More Than WE Know

Women Entrepreneurs sharing Information, Inspiration and Support

Accountability is Key for Successful Goal Setting

Posted by Liz Fuller on September 17, 2007

859261_pond_in_autumn.jpg

 (please click here to go to our new site!!)

Fall weather puts me in the mood for ambitious goal-planning.  The lazy days of summer are ending and the crisp mornings call for fresh notebooks, sharpened pencils, knee socks, and ambitious undertakings.

I know technically Fall won’t start until Friday, but I woke up this morning to a quintessential New England Autumn.  There was a swirl of fog obscuring the changing colors of the oak and maple trees. The Canadian Geese were making practice flights around the lake, preparing for their impending migration and complaining loudly the entire time.  The yellow, orange and rust colored mums I had planted last week are blooming,  and there is just the tiniest hint of frost. 

It’s the kind of morning that makes you believe that if you put your mind to it, you can accomplish anything, whether it’s learning algebra, getting the cute boy in French class to notice you, or a grown-up dream – succeeding in your own business.

So, whether you live where there is an invigorating breeze at your door or you have to imagine one, I invite you to join me in some goal setting this morning.

One of the reasons we accomplish so much when we are in school is because someone is holding us accountable. There is a deadline and someone who knows whether or not we have accomplished it.  So today, I am going to reach out to all of you and ask you to hold me accountable for my goals for the week. 

By this time next week, my goals are to have:

  • completed the move of this blog to its permanent home   
  • written and published ten ezine articles
  • written interview questions for all the interviews I’ve scheduled
  • organized my network contacts into a database
  • and of course, written daily blog posts and met with my clients

Too much? Too little? Considering I’m working full-time in the corporate world while also running my business, it doesn’t seem too little.  And since I will be in a hotel in NY all week, I should have my evenings free. I’m also making use of my train commute (right now) and will again on the return trip on Friday.

Are these short-term goals aligned with my long-term goals? I think so, as they all move me closer to my longer term goal of having 2000 subscribers to my blog.

What about you? What are your goals for the week? Can you clearly articulate them? Are they reasonable given the amount of time you have on your schedule – could you do more? should you do less?  And most importantly, are they aligned with your longer-term goals?

One of the best ways to ensure you reach your goals is to write them down. Feel free to put your goals in the comments area of this blog.  We can be accountability buddies.  I will let you know next Monday how well I did.

Here’s hoping WE all have a productive week!!

Leave a Reply

 
